Tonight was the press night for the play, “My Night With Reg” at the Apollo Theatre, near Piccadilly Circus. This play was a transfer from the Donmar Warehouse, so I wasn’t expecting much from it, as this was technically a second press night for the play.

Well I couldn’t have been more wrong. I got there just after 6pm, the usual time for celebrities to arrive, and I was very surprised to see that I was the only autograph collector there. There was a short red carpet to the main door, with a rope barrier at either side. Behind one rope were several press photographers, and behind the other was me. I know a couple of the press guys, so I asked if I’d missed anything, and I hadn’t. Graham Norton was just arriving, so I took my position and waited.

Whilst there were no HUGE stars here tonight, there were a lot of people I liked, so I got a nice selection of autographs and photographs from them, both as they arrived and after the performance. John Partridge and Harriet Walter, were two that I just got autographs from, and the rest I got photos (and autographs where I didn’t already have them)

Christine Hamilton

Christine Hamilton

Neil Hamilton

Neil Hamilton

Clive Rowe

Clive Rowe

Samuel Barnett

Samuel Barnett

Andrew Hayden Smith

Andrew Hayden Smith

Paul Chahidi

Paul Chahidi

Michelle Collins

Michelle Collins

David Bamber

David Bamber

Michael Cashman

Michael Cashman

Amongst the other people there, were Tracy-Ann Oberman, Miranda Hart, Sarah Hadland, John Sessions, Catherine Rabett, and Adrian Lukis. In fact, Adrian had been the ‘victim’ in last night’s Death in Paradise, so I congratulated him on his corpse-acting, and he very graciously thanked me.

Whilst the performance was on, I popped up to the BBC, where they broadcast The One Show live each night. The guest was Jeremy Paxman, who I’ve met previously, so I got a photo with co-host Chris Evans just as he left the music stage outside the studio.

Chris Evans

Chris Evans

The hands around his neck are just the sound man removing his microphone, and not a critic of Mr Evans.

After this I went to the Trafalgar Studios, as they were just across the road from where the Press night after party was, and got some photos with some cast members there. the weather was now terribly wet, so it was hard to see who people were as they left the stage door, and it was far too risky to get my autograph book out. One of the plays here stars James McAvoy, and he always gets a large crowd of fans (mostly female) waiting to meet him. It was really nice to watch as he came out and signed and posed for every single person there, without any security or film star quirkiness.

I was very happy to get my pictures with three lovely ladies.

Serena Evans

Serena Evans

Kathryn Drysdale

Kathryn Drysdale

Emily Bruni

Emily Bruni

And then home. It was just a short visit, but a happy one.

