I had a lovely day in London yesterday. I’d already planned to see a play, so I was on to a winner from the off.
Before the matinee I met UK Eurovision hopefuls Joe & Jake. Nice lads, who deserve to do well in the contest.
Joe & Jake

Joe & Jake

The play I saw was “Mrs Henderson Presents”, at the Noel Coward Theatre, and I loved it. Proper musical numbers, witty dialogue, and plenty of nakedness. What’s not to like?
Whilst I was praising the cast, and getting my programme signed afterwards, I managed to catch Blofeld’s Guard Nari Blair Mangat, who is in the play at the Wyndham’s Theatre next-door.
Nari Blair Mangat

Nari Blair Mangat

On my way to the BBC for my second planned highlight of the day, I bumped into Carolyn Pickles on Oxford Street. Sometimes in London, you see a famous face and just let them walk on by, but if that face was employed at Sun Hill Police Station then that ain’t gonna happen. I’m very glad I stopped her too. We had a lovely chat about Bradford, and family, and other things, but not The Bill, strangely. A nice extra highlight.
Carolyn Pickles

Carolyn Pickles

On Tuesday night The One Show had announced that Ian Ogilvy would be on their show, so that was one easy decision to make. Ian was lovely. He came out of the studio saying that he’d have to be quick, because he had places to be. He then proceeded to sign autographs, pose for photos, discuss his book, and the touring play he’s directed, without a hint of being rushed. A true star, and if I may say so, a saint.
Ian Ogilvy

Ian Ogilvy

Singer Lianne La Havas was also on the show, so I said hi to her too.
Lianne La Havas

Lianne La Havas

That was three highlights in one day. Plenty enough for me.
Oh, go on then, one more.
It was my last chance to try and meet Hollywood actress Glenn Close, who has been in Sunset Boulevard, at the Coliseum. So, after meeting Tom Edden at the Duke of York’s theatre opposite, despite the HUGE crowds waiting for Kit Harrington, I went to the Coliseum stage door, and joined the assembled masses there. Whilst waiting for Glenn, I managed to get actor Mark Goldthorp, who’s appeared in several Sarah Jane Adventures. He was nice.
So, around 40 minutes after the show ended, the street by the stage door was full of people waiting to see Glenn Close. I was lucky to be in the enclosure near the door, but three people back from the railing. As soon as Ms Close came out, she started signing autographs at the side I was stood, so I reached my book over the shoulders of those in front (without getting in their way) and hoped for the best. I could barely see the top of Glenn’s head, but I suddenly felt pressure on my book. I held still for a moment, until the feeling passed (!), and then retrieved my book to see it had indeed been signed by this wonderful actress.
All that, and both my Megabuses arrived at their destinations on time (despite a breakdown and bus change on the way home). That was £2 well spent.
