After a long tiring day yesterday all I wanted to do today was relax. But no. A while ago, I’d arranged to meet a friend in Manchester this evening, so away I went.

Obviously, if I was going all that way, it made sense to see what autographing opportunities there would be, and there certainly was. The Royal Exchange Theatre had an early evening performance of King Lear, which finished at around 8.30pm, so we arranged to meet there.

It was a bit hectic, and I missed a couple of people I wanted, mostly due to the various exits in the building, but I managed to get four that I’m happy about. One of them in particular.

First up was Thomas Coombes, recently seen on TV as Mr Edward Hyde in “Jekyll & Hyde”. We had a brief chat about Lear, and compared it to one I’d seen with Barrie Rutter in Leeds. Two quite different productions.

 

Thomas Coombes

Thomas Coombes

I’d already seen two others that I wanted, but they were in the bar area, with guests, so I left them be, whilst keeping an eye on them.

Next out of the artistes door was Harry Potter actor Alfred Enoch. I’d already met him in London for an autograph, so I just got a photo this time.

Alfred Enoch

Alfred Enoch

Very soon after this, one of the actors in the bar started getting ready to leave, and after he’d said goodbye to his guests, he headed for the door. I asked him for an autograph and he kindly obliged, then I asked if I could get a photo with him, and luckily he obliged once again. My mate also got a picture, so that was good.

He was the star of the play. No, not my mate, I mean Rising Damp and Death in Paradise actor, Don Warrington.

Don Warrington

Don Warrington

The other actor who was in the bar, was still with his guest, but the bar was starting to close so I very humbly and apologetically approached their table. Thankfully, he was just finishing off his meeting, and couldn’t have been nicer. Putting me at my ease as I continually apologised for the interruption. I hate doing that, but always judge each case individually, and never force myself onto an actor.

This was Star Wars: The Force Awakens and Game of Thrones actor Miltos Yerolemou.

Miltos Yerolemou

Miltos Yerolemou

After this, my friends and I left and went for a nice few drinks (cola – driving – don’t be a mug) and a jolly old catch-up.

If the M62 hadn’t been closed on my way home it would have been a perfect evening. But I got back safe and sound eventually.

